Applications available for 2020-2021 Leadership Positions

Posted On December 13, 2019
Categories Get Involved

Ever think about becoming a leader to other students?  Build valuable career and leadership skills the STATE WAY® with Student Government Association (SGA).  The 2020-2021 ballot application is now available and will be accepted until 11:59 p.m. on Thursday, February 6, 2020. Applications are being accepted for the following positions:

  • SGA President (University-wide)
  • SGA Executive Vice President (for each campus)
  • SGA Speaker of the Senate (for each campus)
  • SGA Senators (for each campus)

Candidates must meet student leader requirements as outlined in the Student Code of Conduct and follow the Election Code. Students considering running for office can learn about the available positions and the opportunities to attend information sessions at Running for Election. Students interested in applying for one of the appointed positions (Communication Director or Finance Director (one per campus) or the Atlanta Senate Clerk can find out more at Appointed Positions.

Learn more about running for election by visiting one of the following information sessions.

Information Sessions
Campus Date Time Location
Atlanta Tuesday, January 28*
Wednesday, January 29*
Monday, February 3*
12 p.m. – 2 p.m.​
5 p.m. – 6 p.m.
9 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Student Center West 258
Speaker’s Auditorium
Student Center West 464
Alpharetta Thursday, January 23 & Wednesday, February 6 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. AA Lobby
Clarkston Tuesday, January 21 &
Tuesday, January 28
11 a.m. – 2 p.m. CN Café & Info Center
Decatur Thursday, January 23 & Wednesday, January 29 Noon – 2 pm SC 2100 Café
Dunwoody Tuesday, January 21 &
Tuesday, January 28
11 a.m. – 2 p.m. Library/NB2000
Newton Tuesday, January 28 11 a.m. – 1:30 p.m. 1N Lobby
*Food will be provided

See the Elections page for a complete timeline.

There is a University-Wide Election Commission, made up of the Election Commission Chairs from each campus, that oversees the presidential election.

Campus Title Name  SGA Affiliation
University-Wide Chief Election Commissioner
(Supervises the Presidential Election)
Cassie Turner Executive Vice President – Newton
Atlanta Chair Evan Malbrough Communications Director
Atlanta Vice-Chair for Logistics Mariah Johnson Undergraduate Senator, A&S
Atlanta Vice-Chair for Marketing Fatoumata Fofana
Alpharetta Chair Margaux Abella Senator for Government & Community Affairs
Clarkston Chair Ashrakat Hassan Senator for Academic Affairs
Decatur Chair Thagema Coichy Communications Director
Dunwoody Chair Chinenye Jonathan Speaker of the Senate
Newton Chair Cassie Turner Executive Vice President
University-Wide Volunteers Apply here to volunteer with the Spring Election.


Twitter Live