Elections

The SGA of Georgia State University convenes an election every year to determine a new administration that will serve the students of Georgia State University.

Candidates must meet student leader requirements as outlined in the Student Code of Conduct and follow the Election Code. Students considering running for office can learn about the available positions and the opportunities to attend information sessions at Running for Election. Students interested in applying for one of the appointed positions (Communication Director or Finance Director (one per campus) or the Atlanta Senate Clerk can find out more at Appointed Positions.

The 2020-2021 ballot application is now available and will be accepted until 11:59 p.m. on Thursday, February 6, 2020. Applications are being accepted for the following positions:

  • SGA President (University-wide)
  • SGA Executive Vice President (for each campus)
  • SGA Speaker of the Senate (for each campus)
  • SGA Senators (for each campus)
Date Time Event/Activity Location
Thur., Feb. 6 11:59 p.m. Candidate Applications Due Online at pin.gsu.edu
Perimeter campus candidates must complete the mandatory orientation session online.  Atlanta campus candidates must attend one of the following mandatory orientation sessions:
Mon., Feb. 10 – Fri., Feb. 14 Perimeter Candidates – completed online Student Life Office
Mon., Feb. 10 TBD Atlanta Candidates TBD
Tues., Feb. 11 TBD Atlanta Candidates TBD
Wed., Feb. 12 TBD Atlanta Candidates TBD
Fri., Feb. 14 TBD Presidential Candidates (from all campuses) TBD
Feb. 15 – March 26 All Day Campaigning Permitted All campuses
Mon., March 2 TBD Candidate Forum for Atlanta Senator Candidates TBD
Tue., Feb. 25 Candidate Platforms published The Signal and newsstands
Tue., March 3 6 p.m. Debates for Atlanta Speaker of the Senate Live streamed from Speaker’s Auditorium in Student Center East on the  Atlanta campus
6:30 p.m. Debates for Atlanta Executive Vice President
7 p.m. Debates for University-wide President
TBD TBD Meet the candidates on Perimeter campuses TBD
Tue., March 10 12:01 a.m. Voting Begins Online via PIN
 TBD  TBD Atlanta Polling Stations Atlanta
Thurs., March 12 11:59 p.m. Voting Ends Online via PIN
Mon., March 23  12 p.m. SGA Election Results Announced  TBD
Mon., March 23  TBD Mandatory meeting for candidates in a run-off Time & location TBD
Thurs., March 26 12:01 a.m. –
11:45 p.m.
Run-off Election Voting (if necessary) Online via PIN
Mon., March 30  12 p.m. Run-off Election Results Announced/
Election finalized
 TBD
May 2020 Date TBD TBD Inauguration & Awards Luncheon TBD
May 2020 Date TBD TBD Officer Training Day TBD

 

Twitter Live

[twitter-feed]